Doing Work That Matters: Show Up

stock-footage-man-tying-his-black-shoelaces

“90% of success is showing up” – Woody Allen

When all hope feels lost, there is infinite power in getting up, tying your shoes-laces, and putting one foot in front of the other.

There are days when my work overwhelms me to the core. I can hardly get out of bed.

But on those days, I find hope in the revolutionary act of simply sitting down behind my desk. I know that if I can pour a cup of coffee and drag myself to the office, eventually the work will get done.

And for that day, I have beaten the Resistance (the resistance of not doing something) and made a tiny push toward progress.

I mentor a number of entrepreneurs, I conduct various entrepreneurship workshops and I attend a lot as well, often the main fight is the will to attend something when the enthusiasm to attend has long fizzled out.

It took me a long time to appreciate this but Woody Allen was right about showing up. Entrepreneurs who show up, who get involved, are present and connected, always grow.

You can’t win it if you are not in it, you can’t do work that matters if you don’t show up.

The answer will always be the same:

It doesn’t matter what you do, what matters is that you showed up in the first place.

Tie your shoe-laces, take the first step, show up… even when you don’t feel like it.

About Roche Mamabolo

Entrepreneur, Author, Dad. Passionate about Innovation and Creativity, Books, Poetry, Traveling, Theatre, Art, Music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

