That Rejection Letter: You will be rejected and that’s okay

Madonna Rejection

“Dear Alec

Re: MADONNA,

I enjoyed listening to Madonna. The production, arrangements and she are very strong. The direction is a good one, in my opinion. The only thing missing from this project is the material. I liked “I Want You”, “Get Up” and “High Society”, but I did not like “Love On The Run” at all. I do not feel that she is ready yet, but I do hear the basis for a strong artist. I will pass for now, but I will wait for more.

Good luck and thank you for thinking of me.

Best regards,

Jimmy Lenner

President”

The moment you open that letter and as you read, you get that sinking feeling that you have been rejected for that job or that business proposal.

You have been rejected, yet again, where to from here?

For a moment you feel down and saddened. I imagine you are feeling hurt, disappointed, perhaps angry and maybe even a failure. These are all normal feelings under the circumstances.

The first few minutes of reading that text you may have felt unable to speak, weak in your stomach, felt small, incompetent etc.

Sometimes you don’t even get a rejection letter, it just goes quiet and you have to assume that you have been rejected. It’s like that person who left the relationship and never said anything, never looked back, just disappeared without saying anything. You have to find your closure and move on.

As human beings we have a strong need to feel secure.  But after you have been rejected your sense of security is threatened, you may feel abandoned, scared and/or hopeless.

One way or another you have been rejected. It happens to the best, it happened to Madonna: “ I do not feel that she is ready yet, but I do hear the basis for a strong artist. I will pass for now, but I will wait for more.” And we know what Madonna has achieved with her career subsequent.

I have lost count of my rejections, looking for a job, looking for sponsorship for my events, proposing to new client when I started my business etc. I have my 900 rejection letters, but I have moved on. Sometimes it took time, but move on I did.

When you have been rejected enough times, you develop a coping mechanism to move on quickly. You don’t dwell on a shut door for long because you know that there will be another door that will open soon, not all doors will shut.

The longer you moan and groan about the shut door, the longer you deprive yourself the opportunity of getting to the door that will open.

My two coping mechanisms:

  1. Back to the drawing board and improving on my proposal; and
  2. “If they don’t get it, then it’s not for them”

Drawing Board

Feedback is a way of saying maybe you should revisit your proposal see if you can improve it.

Rejection is part of direction.

Sometimes being rejected might be a good thing for your career because you may end up being tight to a company that does not share your values and passion and will limit your vision.

If They Don’t Get It.

Then it’s definitely not for them.

It’s a myth to assume that everybody will like your proposal, but it’s also another myth that everyone will reject your proposal.

Someone out there will get it, your task is to hunt for that someone.

Where I grew up we have a proverb that goes “Se nkganang se nthola morwalo”. It is a Setswana/Sependi saying that means- literally translated: “what doesn’t want me, releases me from the burden.”

We will be rejected at some point in our lives. It may actually be a blessing that you were let down, thrown out, cast by the way-side or replaced.

Perhaps, if you looked deep into your heart, you knew you were in the wrong relationship or direction or that you had ‘lost yourself’, no matter how much you wanted that relationship.

Keep on sending those proposals, not to everyone, but to those who you think they are suited for it. Some of them will reject you and it’s okay, but not all will reject you.

If they all reject you, ask them why they rejected you and then go back to the drawing board and improve and come back.

Not everyone will reject you, someone will get it.

Madonna is Madonna because of that rejection letter. She overcame it, and grew from there.

About Roche Mamabolo

Entrepreneur, Author, Dad. Passionate about Innovation and Creativity, Books, Poetry, Traveling, Theatre, Art, Music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

