Quiet Confidence: Shades of Sade

743867-sade

Can artists be introverts?

Are introverts shy and hate crowds?

The truth is that crowds may not be the introvert’s favourite hang out spot, but introverts are not necessarily shy.

There are several successful performing artists who are introverts:

  • Sade Adu
  • Beyonce Knowles
  • Christina Aguilera
  • Lady Gaga
  • Bob Dylan
  • Marlon Brando
  • Julia Roberts
  • Michael Jordan
  • Keanu Reeves

Sade has been quoted as saying:

“I’m not shy or reclusive. I just spend my time with people rather than journalists.”

“I’m uneasy with fame so I do my best to avoid places that will bring me more attention.”

“All the cliches of glamorous sophistication have little appeal to me. Do I want to live the British version of ‘Dynasty?’ No thanks!”

“People generally let me be me. People are aware that I’m not someone particularly begging for attention. They hold back a bit with me.”

“People are so used to having their lives filmed, they’re not even conscious of having cameras around. I still have that sort of suspicion when a camera comes out. I view it as a thing to fear.”

“I only make records when I feel I have something to say. I’m not interested in releasing music just for the sake of selling something. Sade is not a brand.”

A recent study shows that in order to be more creative, you need to feel more comfortable being alone.

Being alone is the best time for introverts.

Different studies are cited, including one in 2012 that indicated that spending 4 days immersed in nature would improve creative problem solving by 50%.

Apple founder Steve Wozniak was quoted saying that inventors and engineers work like artists, and need to be alone, outside of their companies, where they can invent peacefully without others affecting them.

Introverts feel “just right” with less stimulations, as when they sip a cup of coffee with a close friend in a quiet restaurant, solve a puzzle or read a book.

Introverts do talk, but they prefer talking to a close friend and not to crowds.

Extroverts enjoy the extra bang that comes from activities like meeting new people, and cracking up the stereo.

Introverts recharge their batteries away from people, extroverts recharge their batteries throw people.

After a big performance, an introvert wants alone time in his room, an extrovert wants an after-party.

When on vacation, an introvert prefers visiting heritages and historical sites, reading a book on the beach.

When on holiday, an extrovert prefers going out at night, meeting new people, partying on a cruise ship.

An introvert is stimulated by a room full of 100 books, an extrovert is stimulated by a room full of 100 people.

Introversion is not a handicap or some form of pathology that needs to be cured.

About Roche Mamabolo

Entrepreneur, Author, Dad. Passionate about Innovation and Creativity, Books, Poetry, Traveling, Theatre, Art, Music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

